Sea Ice Group at the Geophysical Institute logo1
logo2
logo 3

People

Faculty

Hajo Eicken Professor of Geophysics heicken@alaska.edu 907-474-7280
Olivia Lee Postdoctoral researcher oalee@alaska.edu 907-474-6832
Andy Mahoney Research Assistant Professor of Geophysics armahoney@alaska.edu 907-474-5382
Franz Meyer Associate Professor of Remote Sensing fjmeyer@alaska.edu 907-474-7767
Lew Shapiro Consultant lhshapiro@alaska.edu 907-474-7196

Associated Faculty

Jenny Hutchings Research Assistant Professor jhutchin@coas.oregonstate.edu 907-474-2643

Staff

Mette Kaufman
Research Technician kaufman@sfos.uaf.edu 907-474-5431

Current Students

Oliver Dammann PhD Student dodammann@alaska.edu 907-474-5648
Greg Deemer MS Student gjdeemer@alaska.edu ---
Marc Oggier PhD Student moggier@alaska.edu 907-474-5648
Megan O'Sadnick MS Student meosadnick@alaska.edu 907-474-5648
Alex Sacco MS Student aesacco@alaska.edu 907-474-5648

Past Members

Martin O. Jeffries Research Professor of Geophysics 1985-2014 Office of Naval Research
Hyunjin Druckenmiller Research Technician
Claude Duguay Research Professor
Kim Morris Research Professional kim.morris@gi.alaska.edu
Chris Petrich Postdoc; Research Associate
Daniel Pringle Postdoc, 2005–2008
Adrienne Tivy Postdoc, 20090–2011

Recent Graduates

Josh Jones
Matthew Druckenmiller
Heike Merkel
Lars Backstrom
Jeff Green
Andy Mahoney
Candace Picco
MS 2013
PhD 2011
MS 2008
MS 2007
MS 2007
PhD 2007
MS 2006
druckenmiller@nsidc.org
 
 
 
 
 

Past Interns

Marie Kapsch
Kristine Robson
Ben Blazey
Henry Kozachkov
Intern, 2008-2009
REU intern, 2004
REU Intern, 2005
ARSC Intern, 2005

Collaborators

Kunio Shirasawa
Christopher Krembs
Malcolm Ingham
Roland Glantz
Don Perovich
Norbert Untersteiner
Hokkaido University, Japan
Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington
Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
John Hopkins University
CRREL, Hanover, N.H.
Emeritus, University of Washington